Influential Voices: The Future of Quality

A fascinating blog post on the Future of Quality by Edwin Garro reminded me of a meme I saw on Facebook. It is a quote by Dr. Temple Grandin, “We’re focusing so much on academics that we’ve taken out things like art, sewing, cooking, woodworking, and other things that introduce kids to careers.” While the program that Edwin describes sounds amazing, I can’t help but wonder if these kids have also had the opportunity to learn what is essentially life skills while attending school. In a conversation on my friend’s post on Facebook, many of those who commented noted that they didn’t have the chance to take these things, but they are not the kids that Dr. Grandin is talking about. My kids are. Last week, I had the opportunity to spend some time talking to my son’s shop teacher. He was new to our school district, and he noted that in some districts, as they closed their drafting programs, they were also closing their shops. This is not a great trend. Our middle school offers ALL of these classes – my son even took some of the things he made in sewing to the county fair this past summer. I consider myself lucky that we have access to good schools in our area without needing to go to private schools. I believe the future of quality MUST start with a strong foundation in education. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

