Influential Voices: How do you use your Quality Tools

I particularly enjoyed Paul Borowski’s recent post on Quality Solutions in Unexpected Places since this is something I am always looking for. When I was on the board of a local gymnastics club, a non-profit, I worked to try and implement kanbans on the supplies so that we didn’t run out of toilet paper, something that is essential when you have hundreds of kids in the club on any given day. We made it really simple. I’m not sure if they kept it in place when I left the board, though. I’ve used 5S at home to keep our walk in pantry organized. It works well most of the time. I’ve shared the coaches guide developed by the Quality in Athletics Interest Group with the director of the gym where my daughter currently attends, and while I don’t know if he has started to use the guide, I’ve seen a substantial improvement in the coaching since I shared it. It is hard for me to think of any job that wouldn’t benefit from the use of quality. I suppose that is why when folks tell me that they’re not in quality, my typical response is, “Oh, really, what do you do?”

How do you use quality tools in unexpected ways?

Leave a Reply

