Influential Voices: If You’re Happy and you Know it…

I had to laugh when I saw Paul Borowski’s April post that asks the question, “Are Quality Professionals Happy on the Job?” Forgive me if you are a Software Quality Engineer – I am sure that you may be quite happy, but I have to deal with software validations at work, and well, I can tell you the certainly don’t make us happy! On the other hand, I can’t imagine a software engineer would be very happy doing the things that I do.

So, am I happy on the job? That depends. I don’t like that I don’t sit with the people I work with. They are around the globe, so it wouldn’t really be possible to sit with them anyway. I do like that I can help people do their jobs better with the information that I give them, and that I am able to help our facilities improve their management systems. On the other hand I miss working with customers more directly. I love being able to work on sustainability issues and our first sustainability report. On the other hand, I miss working on medical devices. I think that I am good at what I do, but sometimes, I am overwhelmed by the volume of work ahead of me. I suppose that we all are.

What makes you happy about your job?

Leave a Reply

