Influential Voices: Goals for the New Year

In Paul Borowski’s latest blog post, he poses the question, “What are your goals in quality for the coming year?”

I have to look at this from a number of different standpoints. At work, I am involved in our corporate social responsibility efforts, and creating a unified management system that meets the intent of the Electronics Industry Code of Conduct. This will be an exciting challenge in itself. I am excited about the opportunities that this will bring.

I’m also on the board of the Blue Angels Gymnastics Club and continue to work with them to create a documented management system for the organized that is scoped to its needs and organizational size. In the absence of documentation, it is easy for chaos to rain, or nothing to be accomplished. Even a non-profit is a business, and when not run as one, it can, and will go out of business.

I’m also still in school, and continue to use skills that are part of the QBoK, from consensus building to team leadership as I work through projects for my courses.

Finally, my family is, and will remain a priority to me. The time that we spend together is precious, and as the kids are still young, I want to give them all of the time that we need. I continue to use quality tools such as kanbans (if you have small children and have ever run out of the essentials like ketchup, you understand why you MUST have things like this on a kanban system for sanity’s sake…) and even 5s.

Best wishes all for a Happy and Healthy New Year! What are your goals for the new year?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aderogba Adewusi
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 07:09:59

    The New year already started fine and I am happy about it. Sometimes our plans do not easily materialize, we only need to keep on moving. If one does not relent the solution will be around in no time.

    I do appreciate your post on social responsibility.

    Thanks

    Reply

    • Aimee Siegler
      Mar 22, 2011 @ 08:11:00

      Thanks for your comments. I agree that it can be difficult when plans do not move forward easily. In terms of systems thinking, if we keep moving forward, this will reinforce that movement, and help us to reach our goals.

      I hope that your new year continues to be successful.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

